St. Kitts and Nevis Hosts Saba Delegation

15th July, 2016 (Basseterre) – The Government of St. Kitts and Nevis hosted an official delegation from Saba today.  This visit proposed to renew economic and cultural ties by identifying areas of cooperation.

As part of this visit, different members of the delegation visited several Ministries and Departments for meetings with local representatives.

Mr. Franklin Wilson, Acting Island Governor paid a courtesy call on the Governor General of St. Kitts and Nevis, His Excellency Sir Tapley Seaton, Governor General GCMG, CVO, QC, JP.  During this visit, both reminisced on the familial, cultural and economic ties once experienced between St. Kitts and Nevis and Saba.

Additionally, Mr. Rolando Wilson, Commissioner for Agriculture and his team paid a courtesy call on the Honourable Eugene Hamilton, Minister of Agriculture, et al.  As part of the prospective cooperation in the area of agriculture, the Saba delegation visited the St. Kitts Eco-Park and the Department of Agriculture.

Other members of the Saba Island Assembly, Messers Vito Charles, Ishmael Levenstone, Eviton Heyliger and Ms. Monique Wilson, paid a courtesy call on the Honourable Michael Perkins, Speaker of the National Assembly.

The other members of the delegation included Information Technology staff who visited the Department of Information Technology; Youth Advisors who met with Mr. Stanley Knight, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Youth, and officers responsible for recycling initiatives, who met with the Solid Waste Management Corporation.

A number of persons comprising the seventeen (17) member delegation were of Kittitian and Nevisian descent.

The Government looks forward to opportunities of sharing best practices in a wide array of areas with Saba and other neighbouring countries, especially those with which we share traditionally strong bonds.

Saba is a five square mile island located at Latitude – 17.38 North-Longitude – 63.13 West in the north-eastern Caribbean Sea.  Formally part of the Netherlands Antilles, in 2010 Saba became part of a Special municipality of the Kingdom of the Netherlands together with the islands of St. Eustatius and Bonaire.

Skip to toolbar